Pharmaceutical Committee

The Pharmaceutical Committee of AmCham represents the innovative American biopharmaceutical industry in the Netherlands. As an industry, the pharmaceutical companies make a substantial contribution to employment, education and research in Dutch society.


The Pharmaceutical Committee seeks to engage and foster dialogue with key decision-makers to ensure a favorable environment and policies that will enhance and recognize pharmaceutical innovation in a sustainable way.


The Pharmaceutical Committee wants to be recognized for the intrinsic added value of the innovations the pharmaceutical industry brings to the health and economic welfare of the Netherlands by:

  • Increasing the competitiveness of the Netherlands for R&D investments
  • Providing timely access of biopharmaceutical innovation at a fair price

With this pharmaceutical companies substantially contribute to employment & wealth and enable patients to live healthier, longer lives.


The Pharmaceutical Committee is chaired by Michel van Agthoven, Director Patient Access & Governmental Affairs at Janssen Nederland and Ad Antonisse, Director Market Access & External Affairs at AstraZeneca.

Participating companies are:

  • AbbVie B.V.
  • Amgen B.V.
  • AstraZeneca B.V.
  • Biogen Idec International B.V.
  • Bristol-Myers Squibb B.V.
  • Celgene B.V.
  • Eli Lilly Nederland B.V.
  • Genzyme B.V.
  • GlaxoSmithKline B.V.
  • Merck, Sharp & Dohme B.V.
  • Gilead Sciences Netherlands B.V.
  • Janssen Nederland B.V.
  • Pfizer bv


Each year, the Pharmaceutical Committee commissions research on important developments in the healthcare landscape. The results are presented during the annual European Health Forum. 

Recent reports (in Dutch) can be downloaded here:


The AmCham Pharmaceutical Committee can be contacted at